Posted by: Alecos Papadopoulos | March 8, 2010

SFF-rated 2010 Days #1-#4

I want to apologize to our foreign friends that follow SFF-rated 2010 from abroad, for not posting daily on our blogsite about WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON DOWN THERE. I’m only (un)human.

The festival started amidst social unrest and (mild, as yet) mayhem related to the new fiscal measures that had been announced by the Greek government, and we all feared for our audience -that it would not turned into “our audience” after all. Thursday was as expected, but Friday (with demonstrations and public transport on strike) was bad.  I stopped short of committing suicide, instead considering firing myself, but oh-my,

Well It’s Saturday night

and I just got paid

full about my money don’t try to save

my heart says go-go have a time

well it’s Saturday night and I feel fine

I’ m gonna Rip It Up / Shake it up / Rip it up / at the ball tonight

…we managed to save the posters we have used to decorate the theater from the action described in the immortal lyrics above,

although some underwent rotational stress (the shake-it-up part, if not the rip-it-up one), and they were left slightly unbalanced to the human eye.

But whether few or many, those who came seemed stressed and exhausted, from trying, it seems,  to pick up their favorite Shorts or Features (insinuating that they were all great).

And believe me, they were. “Great” may be a heavy word to be used lightly, but putting-your-heart-and-mind-to-motion most certainly describes accurately what has screened with us so far. I don’t want to go into particulars right now regarding reactions to specific films (some reactions are censored anyway), and the Big Screen  is calling us back.

But I want to thank all filmmakers that provided us with inspiring pieces of art to offer to our audience -and to ourselves. I’m BiB (Back-in-Blog), and I intent to stay.

Alecos Papadopoulos

Chief Festival Officer, BiB


Responses

  1. Dear Alecos,

    Thanks a million for all the hard work you put into this festival! It seems like everybody’s having a great time. I’m looking forward to hear more from you.

    All the best from Germany,
    Christian (Director “Station 77”)

  2. Thank you Alecos for the update! I can’t wait to hear more, and see more photos as well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

