Posted by: Alecos Papadopoulos | March 14, 2009

SFF-rated 2009 Day#2 Fri 13/3

Day 2 -things get heavy. Not crowd-wise, we still feel that what we are getting is a skirmish, cautiously sniffing the air and checking the passages for the main army to follow. But I have a personal thing for tonight’s Shorts & Features:

“Popo” of  director Richard Raaphorst is perhaps among my full house of Shorts for SFF-rated 2009 (don’t worry, I’m not trying to manipulate the Audience Award for Shorts – “Popo” screened out of competition).

Another one is “The River of Copsa Mica”. No it wasn’t screening today, but we got the director Ryan J. Uzilevsky straight from New York, our third visiting director, on a trip that Ryan decided at the last minute. He’s here and he wants to watch “Nobody”. Fine , because I can then leave to run some festival errand. I return about an hour later, and I find that the main army has arrived. I elbow myself inside and I silently praise The Beast for attracting, like an electro-magnet from the past, the new recruits for the future.

Friday the 13th, not a bad day after all – I wonder why it gets all that bad publicity.

Alecos Papadopoulos

Chief Festival Director


Leave a Reply

Categories

